Posts Tagged ‘continental time zones’

On November 18, 1883, American and Canadian railroads instituted five standard continental time zones, ending the confusion of thousands of local times.

This railroad map, published in 1892, courtesy of the Library of Congress, Map Collections, 1500-1999, shows four time zones: Eastern, Central, Pacific, and Mountain. Alaska, which is not shown on this map, belongs to the 5th North American continental time zone — Alaskan.

Burlington Route (railroad map, 1892)

Burlington Route (railroad map, 1892)


Read Full Post »